Daniel Day-Lewis and Julie Christie Clinch More Awards

Daniel Day-Lewis Strikes Big at Baftas

Daniel Day-Lewis was named Best Actor at last night’s (10.02.08) BAFTAs.

The former Oscar winner beat off stiff competition from George Clooney and Viggo Mortensen to take home the prestigious honour for his role as oil prospector Daniel Plainview in There Will Be Blood.

Despite Day-Lewis’ win, the movie was beaten in the Best Film category by World War II drama Atonement, starring Keira Knightley and James McAvoy.

The film, directed by Joe Wright, had been up for 14 accolades, but only added the prize for Production Design to its’ haul on the night. One of the biggest shocks of the evening came when Marion Cotillard was named Best Actress for her spellbinding performance in La Vie en Rose.

The 32-year-old French star was handed the accolade ahead of veteran actress Julie Christie, Cate Blanchett, Ellen Page and Knightley, and admitted she was “shocked” by her win as she collected her statuette.

Cotillard added in her acceptance speech: “You can’t expect anything like this when you are shooting a French movie. I didn’t imagine anything for myself.”

Other winners at the ceremony – which was held at London’s Royal Opera House and hosted by Jonathan Ross – included Tilda Swinton, who walked away with the Best Supporting Actress accolade for her performance in Michael Clayton, and Shia LaBeouf who took home the Orange Rising Star prize, which was voted for by the public.

Joel and Ethan Cohen shared the Best Director prize for their critically acclaimed movie No Country for Old Men, while Sir Anthony Hopkins was honoured with the BAFTA Fellowship.

British Academy Film Awards 2008 full list of winners:

Best Film – Atonement
Best British Film – This Is England
Best Actor – Daniel Day-Lewis (There Will Be Blood)
Best Actress – Marion Cotillard (La Vie En Rose)
Best Supporting Actor – Javier Bardem (No Country For Old Men)
Best Supporting Actress – Tilda Swinton (Michael Clayton)
David Lean Award for Achievement in Direction – Joel and Ethan Coen (No Country For Old Men)
Best Original Screenplay – Juno (Diablo Cody)
Best Adapted Screenplay – The Diving Bell And The Butterfly (Ronald Harwood)
Film Not in the English Language – The Lives of Others
Best Animated Film – Ratatouille
The Carl Foreman Award for Most Promising Newcomer – Matt Greenhalgh (writer of Control)
Orange Rising Star Award – Shia LaBeouf
Music – La Vie En Rose
Cinematography – No Country For Old Men
Editing – The Bourne Ultimatum
Production Design – Atonement
Costume Design – La Vie En Rose
Sound – The Bourne Ultimatum
Special Visual Effects – The Golden Compass
Make Up and Hair – La Vie En Rose
Short Animation – The Pearce Sisters
Short Film – Dog Altogether
The Academy Fellowship – Sir Anthony Hopkins