Wonky Pop Spring Tour



Following the sold out hotter-than-hot party that was Friday night's Wonky Pop's Xmas show at Matter, the Wonky team are pleased to announce a 17-date rotating headline tour across the country featuring three of 2009's biggest tips: Boy Crisis, Dan Black and Master Shortie. From the end of February and through out March 2009, the Wonky tour will be hitting the party to all the best venues across the UK and Scotland.

Riding high on Brooklyn's newest musical wave comes Boy Crisis whose debut single L'Homme blends post punk indie nouse and sinuous electro funk. This danceable five piece full of pop hooks and good looks have been receiving applauds from NME and The Guardian and will certainly be on the top of 2009's ones to watch lists.

Formerly of London indie rock band Servant, Dan Black has stormed 2008's radiowaves and blogosphere with his beautiful Sigur Ros-meets-Rhianna mash up HYPNTIZ. Zoo Magazine have called him "the new Mark Ronson" and this Parisian Englishman is set to storm 2009 with his pitch perfect live show.

Rounding out our sterling line up is the UK's newest MC with massive crossover potential: Master Shortie. This multi-talented 19 year old has already toured with the likes of Hadouken! and has been heralded as "the poster boy of a DIY underground scene". His debut single Rope Chain was championed by Zane Lowe and MTV and his debut album is sure to cause a stir in 2009.

The Wonky Pop Tour has previously helped break acts like Alphabeat, Tommy Sparks, Frankmusik, Sam Sparro, Sneaky Soundsystem, Little Boots and it's certain that Boy Crisis, Dan Black and Master Shortie will follow in their footsteps.

The full Wonky Pop tour dates are as follows:

FEBRUARY
Thursday, Feb 26: Manchester, Ruby Lounge
Friday, Feb 27: Sheffield, Plug
Saturday, Feb 28: Liverpool, Evol

MARCH
Monday, March 2: Newcastle, Academy 2
Tuesday, March 3: Edinburgh, Cabaret Voltaire
Thursday, March 5: Glasgow, King Tuts
Friday, March 6: Leeds, Cockpit
Saturday, March 7: Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
Sunday, March 8: Birmingham, Bar Academy
Tuesday, March 10: Stoke, Sugarmill
Wednesday, March 11: Leicester, Charlotte
Thursday, March 12: London, KCLSU
Friday, March 13: Brighton, Audio
Sunday, March 15: Southampton, Joiners
Monday, March 16: Bristol, Fleece
Tuesday, March 17: Oxford, Academy 2
Wednesday, March 18: Cardiff, Barfly




Submitted by Anonymous on Fri, 2009-03-27 13:31.

Yuss, just heard shorties single is due to be released on the 20th of april, so not long now for shortie heads! big tunes!

Submitted by Anonymous on Thu, 2009-03-19 14:40.

He's also landed touring with the basement jaxx lot in april, gunna be amazing!
gotta be a must see show!

Submitted by Anonymous on Thu, 2009-03-12 12:37.

The tour looks super good, just watched dance like a white boy music video of master shorties, its so fresh...such a tune!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Q5wV-MgKg0

Submitted by Anonymous on Wed, 2009-01-28 17:23.

so glad they got him on board, cant get dead end outa my head..hopefully be even better when i see him live, cant contain my excitement, roundhouse here i come!!